---------- Forwarded message ---------- Date: Wed, 18 Oct 2000 15:26:37 -0400 From: Michael Kimsal To: president@adobe.com Cc: webmaster@adobe.com, news@slashdot.org, editor@wsj.com, camworld.com, editor@time.com, editor@freep.com, editor@detnews.com, editor@washpost.com Subject: Apparent hijacked domain name - adobe.com In attempting to download Adobe viewer, I encountered some problems with the site - specifically downloading Adobe products through ftp.adobe.com. A 30 second cursory inspection showed that ftp.adobe.com was not, in fact, a valid machine name. Further inspection (checking the registrant info at networksolutions.com) proved that the domain name adobe.com was now controlled by a company in China (www.paycenter.com.cn). This SEEMS like the domain name was hijacked or at least snatched because Adobe was remiss in making a payment. (Adobe are the people responsible for PDF viewers, which enable high-quality electronic reproductions of paper documents). Trying to reach support at Adobe has been a nightmare. The only people who spoke with me either pushed me to voicemail or just had NO idea what I was talking about. To further compound the problem, the tech support people were denied from leaving the internal network, so could not look at the networksolutions.com page to see the info I was referring to. Trying to reach ANYONE with any authority at corporate headquarters was greeted with voicemailbox after voicemailbox, and all phone receptionists (with the exception of a 'Robert') were unresponsive to what is a potentially very serious issue. If your business is in a serious situation (with apparently NO ONE aware of this fact) would you prefer a voicemail to be heard hours or days later? The fact that there is pretty much NO method of getting ahold of a human being with any authority at Adobe should be a matter for serious review of internal policies. As it stands now, adobe.com domain name information, as viewed through networksolutions.com, is controlled by a company in China. The domains ftp.adobe.com, cgi.adobe.com and others are non-functional. Goodness knows how long this has been the case, and how many registrations and product downloads this has cost Adobe - it certainly speaks ill of their support mechanism, if not their ability to respond to crisis. ========================== Michael Kimsal http://www.tapinternet.com 734-480-9961